DIY Tea blend and tea bags

IMG_4416

IMG_4423

IMG_4404

Every Christmas (late post, huh lol) I try my best to find a little DIY project that I can make for some of my close friends. And I thought, you can’t go wrong with tea! There are many different flavours and it’s great for your health. I found this tea blend online from Whole Living and I thought it will be super simple to make, so I had to give it a try. (But I’m sure all teas are super easy to make! ) Since this was my first time making my own tea blend, I wanted to find ingredients that i’m familiar with and especially to my friends, just to be on the safe side!

Fennel Mint Green Tea Mix

2 tablespoons loose green tea
2 teaspoons crushed fennel seeds
1/2 teaspoon dried spearmint

Makes 1/4 cup

1) Mix all ingredients together
2) Add 1 tablespoon of the tea blend in empty tea bag or glass

Above is the recipe that I used, however I did make some tweaks from the original recipe. Feel free to check the original recipe! I already had loose green tea in my pantry (not the one specified). I went to Bulk Barn to find spearmint and fennel seeds. I couldn’t find spearmint and I didn’t feel like going around to other stores looking for this specific ingredient. Instead, I bought dried mint flakes. Yeah, you can call me lazy lol.

When I was combining the ingredients, I immediately smelled the crushed fennel seeds. I can’t recall having fennel seeds in any of my meals but it had a strong lovely scent to it and it got me wondering what other recipes can I incorporate this ingredient in.

You can package them in small boxes or tin containers. I found these small cardboard boxes in dollar store. I also wrote down the name and recipe on paper to put in the box. Just in case they want to make their own.

For all those ambitious people out there – you can also make your own tea bags!

DIY Tea Bags

Coffee filters
Stapler
String (optional)
Paper (optional)

1) Fold the coffee filters in half and cut it
2) Each half will be a 1 tea bag, fold the bottom and sides then add your tea blend
3) Fold the top and staple it
4) The string and paper is for the tag, which is optional. When you staple the top of your tea bag, also staple the string. On the other end of the string you can write down the name on a small piece of paper or a cute little design and staple that onto the string.

Treat the ones you love with this DIY tea blend today! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

