Vegan Caramel Sauce

IMG_5353

I’ve been a lover of dates for awhile now. They’re naturally sweet and high in fiber. I’ve always ate dates on it’s own but now I wanted to try something different. I’ve seen a lot of variations on Instagram and Pinterest for vegan caramel sauce. Some recipes has dates in them, which I thought was interesting. I thought to myself, do they really taste like caramel?? I’ve never tried making it before so this was my first attempt. And what are my thoughts? SO FREAKIN’ GOOD. How have I not made this before? I’m not quite sure! Since they’re naturally sweet, you can substitute any sweetener with this. I stumbled on Raw Manda’sΒ recipe and adapted her recipe for mine. She also made a chocolate date sauce and I’ll probably have to make that very soon!

IMG_5367

IMG_5360

IMG_5370

Vegan Caramel Sauce

About 20 dates, pits removed
1 cup of water
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Makes about 1/4 cup

1) Soak the dates in 1 cup of water for 1 hour
2) Add the rest of the ingredients in a blender along with the dates and water.Β Depending on the consistency, you can put as little or as much water you want. Initially, I poured 1/2 cup of water. After blending it for a while I added another tablespoon.

Treat yourself to this vegan caramel sauce today and put it in your smoothie, cakes or even dip your apples in them!!

6 thoughts on “Vegan Caramel Sauce

Leave a Reply

