TYT Community series // Q&A with Jenna

** If you would like to be part of the Treat yourself Today Community. Be sure to check out this page for more details! I would love to hear from you!

Jenna from I’d Much Rather Be Baking is someone who enjoys their sweets…I mean come on, who doesn’t love sweets!? Her blog consists of all these delicious baked goods. And her creativity in tweaking recipes into making her own is simply amazing! Check out her blog and you can also find her here: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Google+.

img_1804 dble

1. What does a healthy balanced lifestyle mean for you?

Living a healthy lifestyle means taking care of your whole self: body, mind, and soul. I feel it’s so important to take care of your body by eating nutritious foods (yes, I know I have a baking blog, but everything in moderation!) and exercising. Your mind and soul need nourishment too! Thinking positive thoughts, releasing yourself from negativity and stress (easier said than done, I know haha!), and doing things you love help nurture your mind and soul.

One of the reasons I started my blog was to do something positive in my life when other things weren’t going the way I wanted them to. I needed a distraction from the negativity that I was having trouble dealing with. Blogging has been such a positive way to express myself and talk about the things I love most.

2. How are you practicing self-care?

I practice self-care by eating healthy, exercising, doing things I love, and surrounding myself with positive people. Removing the negative and toxic relationships in your life help to take care of you mentally.

3.What are the little things that make you happy?

Some of the little things that make me happy are enjoying a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie, watching YouTube videos, and getting a good parking spot in a crowded mall.

ice-cream dbl

4. Favourite quote(s) that you love?

I have to start off by saying I love quotes! When I need some inspiration on a day I’m feeling down I’ll read some quotes on Pinterest as a quick pick me up. Here are only a few my faves:

“You are strong enough, beautiful enough, and strong enough. Believe it and never let insecurity run your life.”

“If you are depressed you are living in the past. If you are anxious you are living in the future. If you are at peace you are living in the present.” –Lao Tzu

“The only person you should try to be better than is the person you were yesterday.”

5. Is there someone or something that has inspired you to become the person you are today?

My family has inspired me to be become the person I am today. They have always encouraged me to follow my dreams and to find the things in life that make me happy. My mother has continuously supported my career goals and decisions despite what they were. Before I started my blog my sister was always nagging telling me to start my blog. Even when I doubted myself she would just say, “start the blog already!!” Well, all that nagging turned into one of the most fulfilling things I’ve done so far in my life.

easy-vanilla-pudding-parfaits-2-dbl

6. If you were faced with your fear, how would you deal with it?

I feel like every day we are faced with some of our fears. I think at some point we all experience the fears of rejection, self-doubt, and insecurity. To deal with it I try to remember the positive things that I have accomplished in my life, and not dwell on the negatives. Sometimes it’s so easy to get bogged down by the things that are bothering us. Focusing on the positives and training your brain to eliminate those feelings of self-doubt are one way we can deal with those fears.

Leave a Reply

