TYT Community series | Q&A with Sara

** If you would like to be part of the Treat yourself Today Community. Be sure to check out this page for more details! I would love to hear from you!

Sara from Nymph In The Woods has interests in many things like cooking, crafting, gardening, hiking and that’s just to name a few! Today she tells us how she treats herself and what are some of herΒ inspirations. From meal prepping toΒ spending time with her dogs. Check out her blog and you can also find her here: Instagram, Twitter

DSCN0127_picmonkeyed

1. What does a healthy balanced lifestyle mean for you?

Living a healthy balanced lifestyle, to me, means taking care not only of my physical health through good food and exercise, but taking care of my mental and emotional health as well.

Not over-scheduling myself, understanding my limits while trying to always push those same limits, and always making sure to take some time out for the activities I love are big parts of the “balanced” aspect to me. I also try to actively pay attention to how I’m feeling, if I’m battling negative or self-doubting thoughts and if there are parts of my life that need more nourishment.

2. How are you practicing self-care?

A lot of little ways! I try to do at least one fun and relaxing thing each day, usually working on a crafty project of some sort. I take some time out almost every week for a long bubble bath with a good book! Exercising, which I enjoy a lot more now than I used to. Meal prepping so I have healthy and tasty food easily available throughout the week. Petting and playing with my dogs!

Probably one of the biggest ways though is that I really try to put a positive attitude or spin on everything. Its not always possible, and I have my bad days like everyone, but that effort has really made a huge difference in my life and my happiness.

DSCN0333_picmonkeyed

3. What are the little things that makes you happy?

There are so many, so I will just pick a few! One fun one recently was walking out on to my deck and picking fresh basil to use in a recipe for the first time! I was giggling the whole time with happiness and still do every time. I love being able to do that this year and can’t wait until the tomatoes and peppers grow in for the same reason. Curling up with a good book is another one. I have always loved reading and it’s one of my favorite ways to relax. Spending time with my boyfriend and our dogs, especially when we can go hiking!

I could keep going, but I will cut the list off there!

4. Favourite quote(s) that you love?

I’ve seen a lot of quotes over the years, and found many inspiring, but only one has impacted me for years. It’s one I love and have drawn strength from many times.

“No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.” ~Eleanor Roosevelt

DSCN0271_picmonkeyed

5. Is there someone or something that has inspired you to become the person you are today?

The two biggest inspirations in my life are my parents. Everything about them inspires me to be a better person, to be more loving, more giving and more caring. They have been there for me and supported me through many difficult times, both in childhood and in adulthood. I can’t imagine where I would be without them and I constantly strive to be the best daughter that I can be and a woman they can be proud of.

DSCN0435_picmonkeyed

6. If you were faced with your fear, how would you deal with it?

While we all have many fears, I’m going to focus on the “big” fears. I actually dealt with this very thing a few years ago and honestly I didn’t deal very well at the start.

Without going into a lot of detail, my life kind of imploded almost 4 years ago. My personal life fell apart, I was about to graduate college, my financial situation was in shambles….you get the idea. I pushed my way to graduation, mostly through not dealing with what was happening in my life as much as possible. After graduation though, I fell apart for a while, mostly staying in my house and not taking very good care of myself.

But after a few months, I started to pull myself back together. And while it took a while, something very surprising happened from this process. I found a new life, and a new me, that I absolutely love! I am stronger mentally and emotionally and I know who I am much better than that girl I was 4 years ago.

What this has all taught me is that I can face just about anything and come through on the other side not only intact, but stronger from it. I have learned how to think more positively and am far more optimistic than I was in the past. And those two things are really how I deal with my fears now. I try to keep an optimistic and positive spin on things and find little things every day to be happy about.

Even when the world felt like it was falling down around me, there was always at least one small thing that could make me smile….that’s something I find important to remember.

Leave a Reply

