5k training plan

Hey guys! I haven’t said this on my blog yet but I used to love running. What do you mean by “used to”? You might ask? I believe from 2011-2013 I have joined 5k runs during the fall and spring. I’ve joined the Mississauga 5k run, Toronto waterfront 5k runΒ and CIBC Run for the cure. I never really liked training for it but the actual run was fun haha. The reason why I stopped training/running in general is because I hurt my ankle pretty bad during the summer of 2013. After the incident I knew I couldn’t run for a while. Then a while became a year. Then a year became 3… oops. Instead, I get my cardio from biking, the elliptical and occasionally on the treadmill.

After 3 years, I think it’s time to start running again. Since I haven’t ran at a long distance for a while, I would have to train as if it was my very first time. Back then I would of hoped to run a marathon by now. But that’s what happens when you fall down… you get back up and start again.

With that said, I have decided to join the Mississauga 5k run this April! I searched onlineΒ for a training plan and saw this one from Popsugar:

a14b8fed_First5Kpost_Final_3_20

Seems doable right? Considering that this plan is only 6 weeks I decided to double up the weeks (Week 1 for 2 weeks, Week 2 for 2 weeks…) Let’s do this!

What are your fitness goals for 2016? What kind of cardio do you prefer?

7 thoughts on “5k training plan

  1. This is perfect! I am doing a 5k in March and did one in January after 18 years. I ran part of the way even though I had planned to just walk. This time around I want to be able to run most of it. Thanks for sharing!

    1. That’s awesome! Good luck on your future runs! That’s like me too, I always find myself walking for some part. I’d love to run all the way. That would be such a great accomplishment!

Leave a Reply

