New York City trip!

Earlier this month, my family and I drove down to New York! If I remember correctly it was my second time there. The first time we didn’t get to travel and see that much of New York because we stayed with our relatives the whole time (it was only a 3 day trip). But now we were there for 5 days so we tried to see as many things as we can! Honestly, it was the most touristy trip ever and I enjoyed every bit of it. Now that I’m home, I already want to go back and explore some more.

DAY ONE:

After a long drive from Toronto to New York, we went to visit our relatives in Queens. Soon after my cousin took us to the Long Island City pier which we were able to overlook Manhattan on the other side of the water. We were there in the evening so we were able to watch the sunset behind all the buildings, which was lovely.

 

IMG_7878

IMG_7883

IMG_7901

IMG_7906

DAY TWO:

The second day was packed with a lot of sightseeing and walking. Our first stop was time Square. Such an iconic place and it was amazing to see it up close. We walked around and saw the big red stairs and stopped by inside the M&M store to escape the heat for a bit. We then walked over to the original Shake Shack in New York. Shake Shack was probably the only food place that I wanted to go during this trip, so I was pleased! So glad I was able to try it out. We ordered the shack burger, shroom burger and the shack stack, with two orders of fries. I also liked the location, which looked like a park, I forgot which park it was). It’s best when you come by during the warmer seasons because it appeared that they don’t have seating areas inside, they were all outside. Later that day we visited the Brooklyn Bridge. Before coming to New York, I didn’t have any iconic places in mind that I really wanted to go to. I figured that we’d just probably visit a few here and there. But let me tell you, seeing the Brooklyn Bridge that day (and walking on it tomorrow) was definitely the highlight of my trip! The best part was that we went during sunset. The view was absolutely spectacular. Almost as if it was a live painting in the sky. Best. view. ever.

IMG_7912

IMG_7913

IMG_7922

IMG_7966

IMG_7997

IMG_7998

IMG_8006

IMG_8014

IMG_8042

IMG_8052

IMG_8063

IMG_8082

DAY THREE:

My family and I went to the rooftop of our hotel ( Fairfield Inn and Suites, Brooklyn for those who are wondering.) The view was breathtaking. You can spot the Brooklyn and Manhattan Bridge towards your left. The Empire State Building towards your right and if you have really good eyesight (or a good zoom on your camera lens) you can see the Statue of Liberty!

Day three was a pretty chill day. We went to Central Park and all I could think was think of the movies that were shot in here! We walked down to where the Bethesda Terrace was and I loved it! The Terrace overlooking the lake and the fountain was gorgeous. If you ever went to the terrace you may notice beautiful architecture underneath. I stayed in there for a for a while looking at all the details while listening to people playing guitar.

IMG_8092

IMG_8130

IMG_8193

IMG_8224

IMG_8241

IMG_8250

IMG_8252

IMG_8255
City of the Sun. Spotted these guys in Central Park and they’re really good!

DAY FOUR aka LAST DAY:

In day two we saw this bridge from the Brooklyn Bridge Park. Now, we got the chance to walk on the bridge! Luckily our hotel was in Brooklyn, so it wasn’t that far. Once you’re on the bridge, the view was amazing from left to right. You’re able to see Manhattan on one side and Jersey on the other. Like I said earlier, the Brooklyn Bridge was the highlight of my trip!

Considering it was our last day, we tried to pack in a lot of places that afternoon. We visited the Grand Central Terminal, which was amazing! Walked around China Town, if you want to get some souvenirs, this is the place to be! Chelsea Market, almost reminds me of St. Lawrence Market and lastly, the High Line Park, I loved going there because we were able to watch the busy NY streets from above.

IMG_8281

IMG_8358

IMG_8365

IMG_20160713_181404

IMG_8369

IMG_8397

Have you ever been to NY? What places do you recommend?

4 thoughts on “New York City trip!

Leave a Reply

