Happy New Year!

It’s the 9th day into the New Year… is it just me or is time flying by?! I realized I haven’t greeted you all with a ‘Happy New Year’ yet! Sorry! I hope you all had a lovely holiday. Most of you are probably heading back to your normal routine (school and work, that is). Hope you all are well rested and ready to start an amazing year!

I know I’ve been pretty bad at posting regularly. More specifically in 2016. Last year, I’ve only made 15 posts. Let’s just say that in my second year of blogging – it wasn’t what I expected. And yes, that’s right, the second year. Which means, at this moment I just realized that Treat Yourself Today turned 3 this past January 3, 2017! Crazy! Although, I hoped for this blog to get bigger and better in 2016 – that doesn’t mean that it won’t in 2017!

I know in every. single. year there is always a discussion on making New Years’ “resolutions”, “goals”,”improvements”. Some people say why even bother making up goals in the beginning of the year, when you know you can make goals throughout the year. Let’s just say that I’m not the kind of person to set up goals FOR the year at the beginning of the year. Right now, what works for me isΒ making short term goals whenever I need to throughout the year.Β What I think should be done in the beginning of the year, is to reflect on the year before.

I like to reflect because then I realize how much I’ve changed and learned since then. I almost act as if reflecting is a sense of accomplishment. When I noticed that I did so many great things and achieved so much, I realize that my year wasn’t boring after all! haha. Some highlights of mine are completing my Bachelors’ Degree in Child and Youth Care, volunteering at Girl Guides of Canada (basically like scouts) and traveling to 4 different places. Also, reflecting doesn’t mean thinking about all the great highlights 2016 gave me. But also when things weren’t so great; Β times that I haven’t done my best or lacked on blogging (oops).

If you haven’t yet, I hope you all get the chance to reflect on 2016. And hopefully, you are left feeling free and satisfied of all the people you’ve encountered, the places you’ve been and the challenges you’ve met. I wish you all have a lovely 2017 filled with joy, laughter, and unforgettable memories! This is going to be a great year.

What was the highlight of your 2016?

Leave a Reply

